Skip to content

Kelley Archer Founders Award

The Kelley Archer Founders Award recognizes UMSA members who have rendered distinguished service to the information security, continuity and risk management profession. While the award does not have to be granted annually, when warranted, up to five awards may be given each year.

About the Kelley Archer Founders Award

This award was named for Kelley Archer, who passed away in 2019. A Minnesota native, originally from Richfield, Minn., Kelley studied at Normandale Community College and the University of San Francisco. Kelley was a 28-year veteran of the United States Army who retired in February 1999 at the rank of First Sergeant.

Kelley had a long career in the area of information security and was a 20-year member of International Information Systems Security Association. He served two terms (4 years) as president of the Minnesota ISSA Chapter.

In 1995, Kelley took over the Twin Cities Security Awareness special interest group, a program was the benchmark for the ISSA National Awareness Program. He was named an ISSA Distinguished Fellow (a distinction is limited to only 1% of ISSA members) and was a founding member of the Upper Midwest Security Alliance (UMSA), serving as the first president of the organization.

Founders Award

UMSA Highlights

Selection criteria

The individual(s) selected will have served the information security, continuity and/or risk management profession for an extended time, usually in a variety of leadership roles wherein effective service or leadership was provided within UMSA or through UMSA member organizations. The individual’s contributions will have had significant impact on the association beyond the time of her/his incumbency.

The Founders Award Committee depends on the membership to submit nominations. The award may not be given to a sitting member of the Founders Award Committee or a sitting member of the UMSA Board of Directors.


Nominations are due by March 15 of each year. The award is presented at the Secure360 conference in May of the same year. Nomination letters should contain a list of people who can be contacted to verify the candidate’s credentials and provide additional information. Email nominations to Marie Strawser or via mail to: PO Box 130935, St. Paul, MN 55113.

Award recipient responsibilities

The award recipient(s) will be responsible for providing a current photograph for the following year’s program and website. Because the element of surprise is our aim in presenting this award, the previous year’s recipients are presented for publication each year.